Let’s talk about Race in the Workplace.

 

Race-related topics often seem challenging to talk about. However, as a Business Psychologist, it is imperative to discuss race and I believe it is not being discussed enough.  It seems as though many are afraid to touch it, or perhaps there is still the belief that racism and injustice in the workplace are non- existent because the towns and cities we live in have a number of black and brown people. At Alumni Digital we have a range of experts who feel comfortable discussing race and I am one of them. My name is Colleen Cameron also known as CICI and I am featured in the video above. I host the online show titled Unspoken and I work with a small team who produce outstanding work.  I am really passionate about presenting and discussing diversity or race-related topics. I completed my Masters in Occupational and Business Psychology obtaining a 1st class distinction on my dissertation topic which focused on black women in the workplace.

In the video featured above, I talk about employment and the racial disparities in the UK. I am joined by Nana Agyeman who runs an organisation that focuses on supporting black individual into work. Research has shown that non-white individuals are still being paid less than their white counterparts and the ethnicity pay gap is still a problem across the UK. We hear a lot about the gender pay gap but black women are still being paid less than white women.

The government is creating a new plan to encourage firms to reveal their figures. This is designed to encourage firms to be open and honest about their pay gap.  Get in touch to discuss race in the workplace, unconscious bias training, Diversity, and Inclusion.

Click Here: Book A Consultation

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.